Skip to content

Carlisle Kickstarter Update: “The Codex Lacrimae” at Friday’s DCPA Off-Center’s “Kick-Off Cabaret!”

AJ promotes Kickstarter project "The Codex Lacrimae" (Off-Center at the Jones Theatre, DCPA; Friday, March 13, 2015)

AJ promotes Kickstarter project “The Codex Lacrimae” (Off-Center at the Jones Theatre, DCPA; Friday, March 13, 2015)

Carlisle Kickstarter Update: “The Codex Lacrimae” at Friday’s DCPA Off-Center’s “Kick-Off Cabaret!”

Good Morning, Everyone!

I just wanted to give you an update on how things went at this past Friday’s “Kick-Off Cabaret,” where I promoted my Kickstarter project http://kck.st/1KRP10j at the Denver Center for Performing Arts in front of a packed, 200-hundred seat Jones Theatre.

To channel the favorite word of Christopher Eccleston’s Ninth Doctor, the event was “FANTASTIC!”

Off-Center actors Justin & Regina were the emcees for the "Cabaret"-themed evening & brought "tomes" of laughter to introduce me...

Off-Center actors Justin & Regina were the emcees for the “Cabaret”-themed evening & brought “tomes” of laughter to introduce me…

My five-minute presentation had the good fortune of being introduced by the hilarious emcees for the evening, Justin & Regina. I’m so grateful to them for bringing an infectiously good vibe to my act—from their blocking and scene-work to enthusiastic performances, these two actors really brought their A-Game to my project!
Sharing some personal background & describing "The Codex Lacrimae" project

Sharing some personal background & describing “The Codex Lacrimae” project

The theater atmosphere & large screens allowed me to quickly share my “1980s Teeange Geek Equation,” or how early influences of obsessive reading, comic books, SciFi & Fantasy, and Dungeons & Dragons shaped my desire to write epic fantasy novels.
The moment of creation: learning about the Krak des Chevaliers and Saladin!

The moment of creation: learning about the Krak des Chevaliers and Saladin!

I then let the audience know about the influence that J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis had on my decision to become a medieval historian, & revealed the “moment” when the story that became “The Codex Lacrimae” popped into my mind: learning that the 12th Century Hospitaller castle of the Krak des Chevalier hadn’t ever been taken by Saladin.
I closed the “pitch” part of the presentation by telling how the $6,500 goal would be used to line-edit and publish a new trilogy of books, and then narrated a scene from the novel, “Chapter 11: Trouble in the Library.”
Regina & Justin acted out the scene as "Sister Nikola" and "Andreas the Chaplain," recreating the moment in the Krak's scriptorium where the villainess tempts the teenaged apprentice!

Regina & Justin acted out the scene as “Sister Nikola” and “Andreas the Chaplain,” recreating the moment in the Krak’s scriptorium where the villainess tempts the teenaged apprentice!

I got some great feedback after the show, and over this past weekend already jumped to 20% funding of the project thanks to some recent sizable pledges!
DSC_3063

The Pledge Wall: Audience members “voted” with stickers for $5 pledges!

Now, $110 of that recent pledge activity came from the Off-Center itself!  Here’s how it worked: besides wanting to blend the “turbo-charged” artistic patronage system of Kickstarter with the vibrancy of live-theater, curator Charlie Miller thought it important that the audience have a say in which acts should get a portion of the ticket sales for the night!

That meant that for every $15 ticket sold, $5 would go to an audience member’s preferred act.

Q & A session after show, where I replied to question about Codex Lacrimae's plot!

Q & A session after show, where I replied to question about Codex Lacrimae’s plot!

DSC_3065We’ll see in coming days Friday night’s experience translates into getting “The Codex Lacrimae” closer to (or over!) its $6,500 goal, but I want to THANK Charlie, Emily Tarquin, Hope Grandon& the entire Off-Center entire cast & crew for all of their help and support in promoting my work.

I think that Charlie’s entire idea was brilliant, and as the Off-Center is a “testing” venue for the Denver Center for Performing Arts, I wish Off-Center many more future Kickstarter/Theater events as successful as Friday night’s was!

jones-theatre

Now, that being said, I’m still only 20% funded on my Kickstarter campaign, with 27 days left until it ends on April 13th, so please keep watching this space for more updates!

Also, I’d really appreciate you taking a moment to visit the website (and share the link with friends and followers) and make a pledge: help bring a new epic fantasy into the world! http://kck.st/1KRP10j

All my best (and keep spreading the word!),
A.J.

No comments yet

What do you think?

