Skip to content

A.J.’s Kickstarter Project: Line-Edit & Publish A New 3-Volume Edition of “The Codex Lacrimae!”

Kickstarter Goal: Create a Revised, Mass-Market Paperback & E-Book Editions of "The Codex Lacrimae, Parts 1-3"

Kickstarter Goal: Create a Revised, Mass-Market Paperback & E-Book Editions of “The Codex Lacrimae, Parts 1-3”

A.J.’s Kickstarter Project: Line-Edit & Publish A New 3-Volume Edition of “The Codex Lacrimae!”

Good Afternoon, Everyone!

Recipient of Medieval & Renaissance Patronage: Giovanni Boccaccio (1313-1375; humanist, author, & poet who wrote "The Decameron")

Recipient of Medieval & Renaissance Patronage: Giovanni Boccaccio (1313-1375; humanist, author, & poet who wrote “The Decameron”)

I’m pleased to announce my new Kickstarter project for line-editing and publishing a revised paperback & e-book versions of my epic fantasy novel, The Codex Lacrimae!

Here’s the live-link to my Kickstarter page! https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy

What’s Kickstarter? It’s an internet-based platform for funding creative projects. Turbo-charging a patronage system of the arts that’s been around since the Middle Ages, Kickstarter is an “all or nothing” system of patronage — that means I invite patrons to donate funds for this project (with rewards —see below — for contributions of $15, $20, $30, $50, etc).  Whatever sum donors give will help me reach my project goal of $6,500, which is the budget I’ve set for

(1) hiring a line-editor to help me revise The Codex Lacrimae,
(2) publishing the new 3-book work, and
(3) paying for production & distribution of “thank-you rewards” for people who support my project

Here’s some background on how Kickstarter works from its FAQ page:

Early Modern Patronage: Queen Elizabeth I's Support of Edmund Spenser for "The Faerie Queene"

Early Modern Patronage: Queen Elizabeth I’s Support of Edmund Spenser for “The Faerie Queene”

What are the Kickstarter basics?

A Kickstarter project is a finite work with a clear goal that you’d like to bring to life. Think albums, books, or films.

The funding goal is the amount of money that a creator needs to complete their project.

Funding on Kickstarter is all-or-nothing. No one will be charged for a pledge towards a project unless it reaches its funding goal. This way, creators always have the budget they scoped out before moving forward.

creator is the person or team behind the project idea; working to bring it to life.

Backers are folks who pledge money to join creators in bringing projects to life.

Rewards are a creator’s chance to share a piece of their project with their backer community. Typically, these are one-of-a-kind experiences, limited editions, or copies of the creative work being produced.  [A.J. Here:  my rewards are listed at bottom of this blog]

Recipient of 19th Century Patronage: Mark Twain / Samuel Clemens ("A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court"

Recipient of 19th Century Patronage: Mark Twain / Samuel Clemens (“A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court”

What is Kickstarter?

Kickstarter is a funding platform for creative projects. Everything from films, games, and music to art, design, and technology. Kickstarter is full of ambitious, innovative, and imaginative projects that are brought to life through the direct support of people like you!

Since our launch on April 28, 2009, over $1 billion has been pledged by more than 5 million people, funding more than 60,000 creative projects.

How does Kickstarter work?

Thousands of projects are funding on Kickstarter at any given moment. Each project is independently created and crafted by the person behind it. The filmmakers, musicians, artists, and designers you see on Kickstarter have complete control and responsibility over their projects. They spend weeks building their project pages, shooting their videos, and brainstorming what rewards to offer backers. When they’re ready, creators launch their project and share it with their community.

Every project creator sets their project’s funding goal and deadline. If people like the project, they can pledge money to make it happen. If the project succeeds in reaching its funding goal, all backers’ credit cards are charged when time expires. If the project falls short, no one is charged. Funding on Kickstarter is all-or-nothing.

Kickstarter funding to line-edit & revise “The Codex Lacrimae” will yield a NEW Part 2, entitled “The Journey to Mimir’s Well”

Kickstarter funding to line-edit & revise “The Codex Lacrimae” will yield a NEW Part 2, entitled “The Journey to Mimir’s Well”

A.J.’s KICKSTARTER PROJECT: LINE-EDIT & PUBLISH A 3-VOLUME EDITION OF “THE CODEX LACRIMAE”
LIVE LINK!!! https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy

So, what’s my project?  I’ve set a 60-day window Line-Edit & Publish a new 3-Volume edition of “The Codex Lacrimae,” a literary fantasy of high adventure, medieval romance, Norse myths, cosmic peril, & Arthurian lore!

I need to reach my goal of $6,500.00 or the project doesn’t succeed.  Here’s the rationale from the Kickstarter folks, and I think it’s a great one:

Why is funding all-or-nothing?  It’s less risk for everyone. If you need $5,000, it’s tough having $1,000 and a bunch of people expecting you to complete a $5,000 project. It motivates. If people want to see a project come to life, they’re going to spread the word. It works. Of the projects that reached 20% of their funding goal, 81% were successfully funded. Of the projects that have reached 60% of their funding goal, 98% were successfully funded. Projects either make their goal or find little support. There’s little in-between. To date, an incredible 44% have reached their funding goals.

Here’s a copy of the Kickstarter page to give you some background of my 25+ years’-long dream (with this live link: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy)

Please check it out, & I’d very much appreciate any pledge you make to help me make my book the best that it can be!

Thank you for visiting, and I do hope that you’ll take a moment to visit my Kickstarter page and pledge your support.  I truly want to bring a new kind of medieval romance and epic fantasy into the world, and I need your help to do it!

Best,

A.J.

Kickstarter Title Image, A.J. Carlisle "The Codex Lacrimae"

Kickstarter Title Image, A.J. Carlisle “The Codex Lacrimae”

THE CODEX LACRIMAE ⎪AN EPIC FANTASY & HIGH MEDIEVAL ROMANCE
by: A.J. Carlisle https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy

Stay-at-Home Husband & Father, Medieval Historian Ph.D., & Epic Fantasy Historical Romance Novelist!

Stay-at-Home Husband & Father, Medieval Historian Ph.D., & Epic Fantasy Historical Romance Novelist!

WELCOME & BACKSTORY TO A 25-YEAR DREAM!

Hi!  I’m A.J. Carlisle, and welcome to the Kickstarter project for funding The Codex Lacrimae, a book whose publication will bring a new kind of story & approach to the epic fantasy genre and make a 25-year-old dream come true! [LIVE LINK!!!  https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy ]

My self-published books, The Codex Lacrimae: Parts 1 & 2, are too big & need a line-editor to whip them into shape for paperback & e-book markets.  I’m here to raise $6,500.00 to (1) hire a professional line-editor, (2) publish the story in three paperback and e-book versions, and to (3) pay for all of the rewards that I’ll be giving supporters. Details on the project await farther down this page, but first, here’s some background on me and my project!

Current 2-Part Paperback Versions of A.J. Carlisle’s “The Codex Lacrimae”

Current 2-Part Paperback Versions of A.J. Carlisle’s “The Codex Lacrimae”

The Project

The Codex Lacrimae currently exists as a an 1,100-page work that’s divided into two parts: Part 1: The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight, and Part 2: The Book of Tears.  The books are self-published & available in two formats, print-on-demand (via Argo Navis) and e-books (all major platforms, such as Amazon, iBooks, and Barnes and Noble).

Thanks to the reviews of publishers, editors, and readers, I’ve learned that I need to get a professional line-edit of the work…

Project: (1) hire professional line-editor & (2) publish revised editions of “The Codex Lacrimae!”

Project: (1) hire professional line-editor & (2) publish revised editions of “The Codex Lacrimae!”

… and that’s where YOU, my potential Kickstarter backers come in! I want to do this right, and establish a strong foundation for the remaining books in The Artifacts of Destiny series. [LIVE LINK!!! https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy]

FUNDING REQUEST & GOALS:  Based on professional recommendations, Kickstarter funding will enable me to hire a line-editor & divide the story into three parts.

Therefore, PLEASE CLICK ON THE “BACK THIS PROJECT” TO THE RIGHT!  I’ve budgeted costs to make a professional product, and need $6,500.00.  Together we can produce a great epic fantasy and everybody wins: the story will get out into the world in a very reader-friendly form, you’ll get NIFTY REWARDS, and I’LL RECEIVE MUCH-NEEDED funding for this project to

  • pay for professional line-editing that will reduce the current 1,100 page-count
  • publish a revised, 2nd Ed. of The Codex Lacrimae, Part 1: The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight
  • publish a new The Codex Lacrimae, Part 2: The Journey to Mimir’s Well
  • publish a new The Codex Lacrimae, Part 3: The Book of Tears
Kickstarter Goal: Mass-Market Editions of "The Codex Lacrimae, Parts 1-3"

Kickstarter Goal: Mass-Market Editions of “The Codex Lacrimae, Parts 1-3”

TIMELINE & RELEASE DATES:  Editing and revision of Parts 1 & 2 would be completed by April, 2015, with Part 3 completed by July 2015.

Publication Dates:

  • April 2015The Codex Lacrimae, Part 1: The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight (2nd Ed.)
  • June 2015 The Codex Lacrimae, Part 2: The Journey to Mimir’s Well
  • November 2015The Codex Lacrimae, Part 3: The Book of Tears

All of these volumes would be available on the e-book & print-on-demand sales platforms (e.g., Amazon, iBooks, Barnes & Noble, etc)

Make a pledge & enjoy the climb to new epic fantasy heights together!

Make a pledge & enjoy the climb to new epic fantasy heights together!

A 25-YEAR-OLD PURSUIT: REBOOT & UNIVERSALIZE EPIC FANTASY

Why should you support this project?  Because I believe that The Codex Lacrimae is a unique and exciting story that needs to be shared with the world, and which will entertain both general readers and fantasy fans alike.

When I began this journey in 1987, I wanted to create high fantasy literature that departed from the imitators of Tolkien and Lewis which were beginning to saturate the marketplace.  I dreamt that The Codex Lacrimae and its 8 sequels would be a way for me to “reboot and universalize” the epic fantasy genre.

How? by telling an original saga of high adventure and romance that prominently featured my childhood inspirations: Norse mythology, Arthurian legends, medieval history, & the worlds of Science Fiction & Fantasy.

Inspiration of Norse Mythology & Medieval European Epic Fantasy (Lindisfarne Castle, Northumbria, area of 8th Century Viking Raids)

Inspiration of Norse Mythology & Medieval European Epic Fantasy (Lindisfarne Castle, Northumbria, area of 8th Century Viking Raids)

PRIORITIZING FAMILY WHILE KEEPING THE DREAM ALIVE
Perseverance is the keystone for this dream, and any edifice needs a solid foundation — for me, that’s always meant family first, career second. Back in college when I began training for a profession, I believed that the pursuits of a medieval historian would offer a chance to make a living and work on my epic fantasy stories during my off-time.

Well, “Life” chuckled, took that plan, shuffled it, & then dealt me some other cards from the same deck. Thus, my wife and I got married shortly after I earned my M.A. in History, & we had two beautiful children while I was in the midst of a doctoral program. Believing one person should stay home and raise the kids, and — since she had a better job potential and I was grad-teaching & grading blue-books at a low wage — we decided that I’d take over the majority of parenting duties as house-husband & father.

Best call we ever made, and I’m daily grateful for being part of a happy marriage & the chance to share in so many moments of my children’s education & development!

Inspiration of Academic Teaching & Research: Passion for Medieval Worlds

Inspiration of Academic Teaching & Research: Passion for Medieval Worlds

For all of the family priorities, though, I never ceded the dream of becoming a historian or full-time writer. I just became very patient, tamped down any negative, overly ambitious expressions of the proverbial “male ego,” and kept plugging away at both my academic & literary goals! (No, really, there were no emotional issues at all…) .

So, I taught for a while at the university level, completed my Ph.D. in Medieval History & got published in my field, all while keeping alive the dream of being an epic fantasy writer. I never stopped working on The Codex Lacrimae & plotting the series of novels that I’ve come to call The Artifacts of Destiny.

A.J. Carlisle, Ph.D. Medieval Historian (Church History, Crusades)

A.J. Carlisle, Ph.D. Medieval Historian (Church History, Crusades)

Ph.D. CREDENTIALS: “REBOOTING & UNIVERSALIZING EPIC FANTASY AS ONLY A MEDIEVALIST CAN”

How to make something truly original in 2014 after over half a century of imitations in the epic fantasy genre of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings & C.S. Lewis’s The Chronicles of Narnia?

First, my credentials should assure you of how seriously I take my craft. That is, besides knowing how to professionalize my writing to meet deadlines and publish, for the first time since Tolkien & Lewis, I believe I’m one of the few Ph.D. medievalists in the marketplace to write epic fantasy.  As such, rather than relying solely on the “medieval memes” those medievalists revealed (elves in forests, dwarves in caves, massive battles, etc.), my expertise lets me explore the hundreds of other historical “realities” contained in medieval literature’s voluminous pages.  The study of those sources has been my life’s work, & I think that my passion for the field shows in the stories I write.

Inspiration of the Viking Age & Scandinavian Lands (Trolltunga, Norway; "Troll's Tongue")

Inspiration of the Viking Age & Scandinavian Lands (Trolltunga, Norway; “Troll’s Tongue”)

Second, rather than ripping off those venerable fantasists from the mid-20th century, I’ve created an original story that meets the expectations and hope of today’s early 21st-century audience, including psychologically complex characters, realistically depicted women, multinational heroes and villains, & a diverse approach to peoples, religions, and cultures —all of which exist in a tale that eventually spans a thousand years!

Lastly, the framework of The Codex Lacrimae (and other Artifacts of Destiny books) is bound refreshingly closely to medieval European and Global history, with a different approach to the Scandinavian folklore, Arthurian legends, and Norse myths from anything done previously in the genre.

Spines of "The Artifacts of Destiny" series will artistically fill a bookshelf! (note: yellow arrows highlight the 2 parts of "The Codex Lacrimae")

Spines of “The Artifacts of Destiny” series will artistically fill a bookshelf! (note: yellow arrows highlight the 2 parts of “The Codex Lacrimae”)

THE UNIQUE ASPECTS OF THE CODEX LACRIMAE AGAINST REST-OF-MARKET

HIGH FANTASY & HISTORICAL ROMANCE INFORMED BY HUMANITY I’ve always wanted something more from my storytelling than another rehashing of Tolkien or Lewis, and I desired more diversity in my imagined universe than I saw expressed in many of the more popular fantasy works.

For example, women.  Where were all the “realistic” women in epic fantasy?  (Not the chain-mail bikini-clad pin-ups like Red Sonja, but women from all backgrounds in medieval times whom I’d come to know by virtue of both historical studies and simply by living with a wife and raising a daughter?) In The Codex Lacrimae, main female characters from Clarinda, Genie, and Fatima to Hela the Death-Queen and Skade the Huntress are fully realized women, each with distinctive personalities and story arcs.

Then, there’s the problem of religions & cultures. Where in epic fantasy was the attention to medieval religions and cultures that informed peoples’ lives from 500-1500 A.D.? For me, the majority of settings in the new kind of epic fantasy I’m writing must evoke a bygone age that reflect key aspects of lands & peoples (nobility, peasantry, merchants, clergy, etc) who lived in the medieval period in Western Europe and the entire Mediterranean Basin (c. 500-1500), including the Iberian Peninsula, North Africa, and the lands of Greek, Turkish, & Middle Eastern littorals.

Lastly, literature.  Where was the “literary” fantasy that could inspire readers to take the kinds of flights of imagination and fancy I enjoyed in my youth? I resolved early on that, no matter how much I learned about European history while becoming a medievalist, that kind of specialized historical knowledge would always be put to serve the characters, plot, and the story, and not the other way around! I wanted my story to be a tale that I wanted to read in my off time.

Inspiration of Mediterranean Lands: Sicily, homeland of Servius Aurelius Santini in "The Codex Lacrimae"

Inspiration of Mediterranean Lands: Sicily, homeland of Servius Aurelius Santini in “The Codex Lacrimae”

BLENDING MEDIEVAL HISTORICAL REALITIES WITH EPIC FANTASY
My approach to high fantasy remains true to the expectations of my Sci-Fi/Fantasy geek-side (inter-dimensional travel, a Nine World Multiverse, etc), but the story remains grounded in the historical Late Antique and Medieval worlds of my profession — peoples, cultures, and places featured in The Codex Lacrimae originate in the British Isles, Scandinavia, the Continent, & southward to ancient Roman lands around the Mediterranean Sea. Then, while tending to realities of that nexus between the “West” and “Eastern” worlds of the Silk Road & Spice Route, I shift the story into a cosmology that seriously treats medieval realities influenced by Norse, Welsh, Celtic, & other world mythologies.

Yes, yes, I’m treating the histories and folklores of a wide range of peoples and cultures with an adventurous touch, but, so what? Like many of my readers, I’m a fan of Doctor Who, so I’m certainly not afraid to let things get a little “timey-wimey” and dimensionally distorted in my approach!

Inspiration of Middle Eastern Lands: The Krak des Chevaliers, Syria (A 12th Century Nexus for 3 Religions & Norse Mythology Collide in "The Codex Lacrimae")

Inspiration of Middle Eastern Lands: The Krak des Chevaliers, Syria (A 12th Century Nexus for 3 Religions & Norse Mythology Collide in “The Codex Lacrimae”)

THE TWIST: THREE HISTORICAL PEOPLES OF “THE BOOK” vs. A THREAT FROM NORSE MYTHS & ARTHURIAN LORE  As a former Dungeons and Dragons gamer, I wanted my epic fantasy to be a truly unique, fully immersive one that others could revisit & reread, so I created a faux-medieval world with elements of high fantasy, but the twist would be that I’d not go about solely creating a parallel universe or imitate Middle Earth or Narnia.

Instead, I’ve used the “real” history of the Middle Ages and set the three historical peoples of “the Book” (Christians, Jews, and Muslims) against a threat borne from the most renowned book-burners in history, the Vikings and their Norse Nine Worlds!  In my book, religion plays a part, but it’s not preachy or moralizing. Instead, I want to give the reader as realistic a portrayal of the medieval Christian, Jewish, and Muslim peoples and relationships as they existed in their own time.

Inspiration of Celtic Myths & Folklore: Bringing Back the Ancient Druids & WItches (The Three Megalithic Menhirs d’Oppagne, Belgium, a.k.a., a Rune-Gate for Druids in “The Codex Lacrimae”)

Inspiration of Celtic Myths & Folklore: Bringing Back the Ancient Druids & WItches (The Three Megalithic Menhirs d’Oppagne, Belgium, a.k.a., a Rune-Gate for Druids in “The Codex Lacrimae”)

HONORING THE EPIC FANTASY GENRE CREATED BY TOLKIEN, LEWIS, AND MY HIGH FANTASY HEROES, BUT TAKING ANOTHER PATH:

Ultimately, I hoped my work would be original & honor the high fantasy medium I loved, but also make the kind of creative & entertaining “twists” featured in the books of my other literary heroes: Michael Moorcock (“The Eternal Champion” series), Ursula K. Le Guin (“Earthsea” ), Katherine Kurtz (“Deryni” books), Fritz Leiber (“Fafhrd & Gray Mouser” Lankhmar books ) & Stephen R. Donaldson (“Chronicles of Thomas Covenant”).

I believe that I succeeded, and for a glimpse at my vision, please see below for the plot synopses & book reviews for The Codex Lacrimae, Pts 1 & 2!

Current Amazon.com page for A.J. Carlisle, “The Codex Lacrimae, Part 1: The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight”

Current Amazon.com page for A.J. Carlisle, “The Codex Lacrimae, Part 1: The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight”

PLOT SYNOPSIS: A.J. Carlisle, THE CODEX LACRIMAE, PART 1: THE MARINER’S DAUGHTER & DOOMED KNIGHT [http://www.amazon.com/The-Codex-Lacrimae-Part 1]

An ancient evil returns to the desert lands of the Crusades, and only the teenagers Clarinda & Ríg can prevent the coming of the Final Twilight!

The Codex Lacrimae, a book of ancient evil, is loose again in the world.  It’s the 12th Century, and Crusades ravage the Middle East. When the Book of Tears reaches the castle of the Krak des Chevaliers, it need only touch the unwitting hands of the prophesied Codex Wielder to ignite the Final Twilight.

But hope remains — the Norns foretell that two teenagers might stop the impending disaster!

Ríg, an 18-year-old Hospitaller apprentice training to be a warrior-monk in the castle’s library, seeks only a quiet existence because of a haunted past. The Codex Lacrimae and its supernatural temptations will force him to choose between the peaceful path of a priest or violent ways of a warrior.

Meanwhile, hundreds of miles away, 17-year-old Clarinda Trevisan is a beautiful Venetian sea merchant’s daughter content to sail with her father’s fleet throughout the Mediterranean Sea. Soon it won’t be cargoes and crews occupying her time, but rather the strange creatures of Norse mythology, the magical Nine Worlds, and a tempestuous relationship with Ríg himself!

The return of the Codex Lacrimae unleashes a host of evils that might challenge even the most star-crossed of lovers. Besides threatening Ríg and Clarinda’s lives (and immortal souls!), the Huntsmen of Muspelheim, Hela and her Wilde Jagd, and the Dragon Fafnir all act  in concert with an unknown figure whose dark designs have been centuries in the making — but, to implement, he needs Ríg to awaken the first of nine magical artifacts that will open a Rune Gate to the Nightmare Realm and consume all reality in flames! If the two teenagers can’t stop their enemies, they’ll find the worlds of the Multiverse at the brink of annihilation!

Carlisle's Nine Worlds: Niflheim — Hela's Underworld & Lair of Fafnir the Dragon

Carlisle’s Nine Worlds: Niflheim — Hela’s Underworld & Lair of Fafnir the Dragon

Book Reviews for A.J. Carlisle, “The Codex Lacrimae, Part 1”: 

from Awesome Indies: “…The narrative is well crafted, with each revelation in the separate characters stories placed perfectly to coincide with events in the other, thus the reader gradually understands their relationship and pieces together the story. Once Clarinda and Servius finally meet, and begin to traverse the nine worlds, the extent of A.J. Carlisle’s imagination and elaborate world building is really showcased. The pacing picks up and the imagery is breathtaking. The descriptions of the water spirits and the wintry wasteland of the dead in Niflheim were particularly beautiful. The first half of the book was okay, but the second half blew me away.”

from Kirkus Reviews: “An intriguing blend of alternate reality and fantasy, featuring a young woman set to inherit magical powers and a young man who may or may not be evil incarnate.”

from Shep (visitor to Kickstarter website): “Hello A.J. I just got done reading your The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight and am in complete awe of your storytelling and scholarly background. This tale of all-myths is a saga that has reached my book collection, and will wait for as long as I have to for yourself to finish the entirety of The Artifacts of Destiny epic to the conclusion of The Codex Mundorum.”

from Amazon.com (Current Amazon.com page for A.J. Carlisle, “The Codex Lacrimae, Part 1: The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight” PLOT SYNOPSIS: A.J. Carlisle, “THE CODEX LACRIMAE, PART 1: THE MARINER’S DAUGHTER & DOOMED KNIGHT”

  • from Mindy: “… feels like it is a commencement of an epic journey. The author has vast knowledge of many mythologies spanning multiple cultures and eras…The story features a young woman thrust from seafaring life to one of adventure and mysticism…You get to meet water faeries, Dwarves, Elves, shape shifters and demigods…A.J.’s writing style was easy to get into a flow with. His vocab was adept and easily understood… Reading this book gets me excited to see how the story progresses.”
  • from Ian: “…Bringing a character, much less an entire story’s setting, to life is a daunting task; however Carlisle has accomplished the magic of captivating readers through entwining a fantastical romance with historical fiction. The heroes encompass every aspect of characters a reader likes to root for….”
  • from Alejandra: “…This book has such an interesting balance between fantasy, with all the magical components, and reality by drawing in places that really exist. The story of Clarinda and Rig’s journey lets you get to know each character’s personality… (Clarinda is my favorite!). This is a book that is so exciting that it draws you in and makes you forget about everything else, I couldn’t put it down….”
  • from Celeste: “The author has created a vast web of relationships, adventure, and intrigue and is a wonderful storyteller. He was able to create an interesting, dynamic adventure with a wide cast of characters interweaving Christians, Muslims, Jews, and Norse mythology in the medieval Middle East with the central character being a beautiful young Venetian woman! …the author is great at bringing the past, present, and future into play through the use of the Norns (Nordic female beings who rule the destiny of gods and men, like the Greek Fates)…His use of several languages adds to the enjoyment of the story, as it lends a certain credibility and realism (perhaps gravitas?)…looking forward to the next volume!
  • from Abby: “Mr. Carlisle has written a story with history, intrigue, romance and excitement … I can’t wait to see the future adventures of Clarinda and Rig. When I was younger, I was enthralled by the Tolkien trilogy, now I am easily as captivated with the characters and the writing of A. J. Carlisle. I strongly recommend The Codex Lacrimae to any and all that are looking for an intelligently written, exciting and entertaining adventure.”

    Current Amazon.com page for A.J. Carlisle, “The Codex Lacrimae, Part 2: The Book of Tears”

    Current Amazon.com page for A.J. Carlisle, “The Codex Lacrimae, Part 2: The Book of Tears”

PLOT SYNOPSIS FOR THE CODEX LACRIMAE, PART 2: THE BOOK OF TEARS [http://www.amazon.com/Codex-Lacrimae-Part-2]

While heroes from three religions unite to save all existence from a threat out of Norse mythology, a thousand year love story begins… 

The Nine Worlds and Multiverse of medieval times are threatened by reemergent threats from Norse mythology, and only the teenagers Clarinda Trevisan & Ríg can prevent the return of the darkest of the Artifacts of Destiny, the Codex Lacrimae. In action-filled journeys and breathtaking battles that range across exotic locales such as the besieged Krak des Chevaliers on Midgard, to the Weeping Wood of Svartalfheim, the Dwarf-Caverns of Nidaveller, and even to the fabled Fjords of Asgard, the relationship between the Hospitaller and Norn develops and deepens. They find that they have to rely on each other if they’re to successfully confront new menaces such as the Rock Giants, the Midgard Serpent, the Murderer Kullervo, Dietrich the Mad Dwarf, and Fafnir the Dragon…all of whom have joined Satan, Hela, Farbauti, and Morpeth in the hunt for the Codex Lacrimae.

Things seem dire for the young Hospitaller and Norn, but hope remains because they’re not fighting alone. The youths find many allies in the Nine Worlds — Grimnir the Wanderer, Ratatosk the Squirrel, Fenris the Wolf, Skade the Huntress, and the Dwarf-Mages, Andvari and Traeg — who are all willing to help along the way, complementing the efforts of Ríg and Clarinda’s human friends back at the Krak des Chevaliers.

With an unpredictable outcome that confounds traditional expectations of the genre and begins the tale of a thousand year romance, this first book of The Artifacts of Destiny will surprise and delight readers of epic fantasy!

Carlisle's Nine Worlds — Alfheim: World of the Light Elves (where Aurelius meets Grimnir in "The Codex Lacrimae")

Carlisle’s Nine Worlds — Alfheim: World of the Light Elves (where Aurelius meets Grimnir in “The Codex Lacrimae”)

BOOK REVIEWS FOR THE CODEX LACRIMAE, PART 2: THE BOOK OF TEARS

from Charles S: “…if you’d like to preview a work of fantasy genius in its current form, this is the book for you. Carlisle is a master of spinning a yarn while creating a rich fantasy physic and metaphysic. The fire of genius is everywhere–the freshness of the characters, the evocation of medieval backgrounds, the endearing romance of Clarinda and [Ríg], and the originality of its Arthurian-Norse mythology.”

Inspiration of Mediterranean Lands: Grand Canal, Venice (homeland of Clarinda Trevisan in “The Codex Lacrimae”)

Inspiration of Mediterranean Lands: Grand Canal, Venice (homeland of Clarinda Trevisan in “The Codex Lacrimae”)

WORLD- AND CHARACTER-BUILDING ON INTERGALACTIC SCALE: NORDIC 9 WORLDS, ARTHURIAN LEGENDS, AND A SCIENCE-FICTION BASED MULTIVERSE:

Moreover, in this fantasy series, you’ll find characters who matter, and an over-arching story that pits both male and female heroes (and villains) against a threat borne from Norse mythology.  The Mediterranean World of the 12th Century was a polyglot of peoples and cultures, and in many ways what Barbara Tuchman would call a “distant mirror” of our time.  My characters are drawn from every part of medieval life — knights, merchants, priests, musicians, scholars, peasants, monks, nuns, nobles, druids, witches — and each has a role to play in the greater story.

You’ll not find in my books the clichés that drive me bonkers when they appear in shadowy side-streets of the fantasy genre;  no one-dimensional walk-on characters who serve only to be slain by a dragon (or die so that numbers can be added to a macabre body count), no token appearances by women (or men) whose purpose in the story is only to be bedded by the close of a chapter, and especially no characters who appear simply as plot-devices, dragged on-stage by the hair to utter a couple of lines, & then booted off, never to be seen again.

To give you a taste of what I mean, here’s a brief sampling of the Nine Worlds in The Codex Lacrimae:

Carlisle's Nine Worlds: Rune Gate on Midgard (c. 545 A.D.) Druids in Ireland on Solstice Eve in "The Codex Lacrimae"

Carlisle’s Nine Worlds: Rune Gate on Midgard (c. 545 A.D.) Druids in Ireland on Solstice Eve in “The Codex Lacrimae”

1.  Alfheim: Land of the Light Elves and home to the mysterious Grimnir, ally of the Norns & master of magical creatures.

2.  Asgard: Citadel of the Norse gods & guarded by Heimdall & labyrinthine fjords.

3.  Hel: Norse Underworld ruled by Hela, daughter of Loki and the frost-giantess Angrboda, who rules underworlds of Hel and Niflheim; sister of Midgard Serpent, Jormungand, & the changeling, Fenris the Wolf.

Carlisle's Nine Worlds: Jotunheim — World of the Frost Giants, where dwell Mimir the Seer & the Norns in "The Codex Lacrimae"

Carlisle’s Nine Worlds: Jotunheim — World of the Frost Giants, where dwell Mimir the Seer & the Norns in “The Codex Lacrimae”

4.  Jotunheim: Mountainous Land of the Frost Giants, where dwell the seer, Mimir, and the Three Norns of Fate, Urd, Verdandi, and Skuld.

5.  Muspelheim: World of Fire, Volcanoes, & Firestorms, ruled by Surtur, whose Huntsmen, Morpeth & Farbauti, are again seeking the mysterious Codices of Fate.

6.  Nidaveller: World of the Dwarves & home of the Arch-Mages, Andvari the Good and Dietrich the Mad.

7.  Niflheim: the World of Ice & Shadowlands, where roam the depraved (and often undead) armies of Hela’s Wilde Jagd.

Svartalfheim, Land of the Dark Elves (& location of the giant, Ilmarinen the Blacksmith, in "The Codex Lacrimae")

Svartalfheim, Land of the Dark Elves (& location of the giant, Ilmarinen the Blacksmith, in “The Codex Lacrimae”)

8.  Svartalfheim: the Land of the Dark Elves, and realm where Volund & Loki created the last of the Codices of Fate, the Book of Tears.

9.  Midgard: the Middle World of the Nine Worlds, where mortals dwell; in The Codex Lacrimae, the time reckoning is 1185 A.D.; includes

  • British Isles
  • Byzantium/Constantinople
Carlisle's Nine Worlds: Midgard — Crusader Lands of the 12th Century Levant (Caesarea Maritima, where Clarinda Trevisan accepts her Fate in "The Codex Lacrimae")

Carlisle’s Nine Worlds: Midgard — Crusader Lands of the 12th Century Levant (Caesarea Maritima, where Clarinda Trevisan accepts her Fate in “The Codex Lacrimae”)

  • Levant (eastern coast of the Mediterranean Sea; also called Outremer and the Holy Land by Frankish Crusaders)
  • France
  • Italy
  • Scandinavia
  • Sicily
Inspiration of Fantasy & Science-Fiction: A Cosmic-Powered Norn Witch and Codex-Wielding Hospitaller Knight

Inspiration of Fantasy & Science-Fiction: A Cosmic-Powered Norn Witch and Codex-Wielding Hospitaller Knight

A THOUSAND YEAR LOVE STORY:

For all of the medieval tapestry formed by the interactions and lives of these characters, the heart of the story is a romance between Clarinda and Ríg. For the Venetian girl, the entire context of her life and aspirations are destroyed by the machinations of the Huntsmen of Muspelheim & the demonic “Old Nick.” For Ríg, his desire for a life of peace and penance as a Hospitaller knight disintegrates with the arrival of the Codex Lacrimae at the Krak des Chevaliers.

The Codex Lacrimae is part of the larger Artifacts of Destiny epic, a 9-book series that will take the characters and readers on a completely original adventure through space, time, & the Multiverse from the 6th to 23rd Centuries.

Thank you for taking the time both to review this business proposal & getting to know something about this project and me!

Best,
A.J. Carlisle

[LIVE LINK!!! https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy

STRETCH GOALS:

“Stretch Goal #1: Begin Marketing Campaign for “The Codex Lacrimae”

“Stretch Goal #1: Begin Marketing Campaign for “The Codex Lacrimae”

STRETCH GOAL #1: $10,000.00 (Begin Marketing Campaign via Publisher’s Sites) If I’m fortunate enough to exceed my funding goal, then I’d apply extra funds to BEGIN MARKETING The Codex Lacrimae. Funding at this level would allow me to purchase an “Enhanced Discovery Tier” that helps promote my books (e.g., a dedicated “Codex Lacrimae” web-page, an Author’s Page, Wikipedia entry, etc).

Rewards at this level: Donors would receive (1) DRM digital copies of all three volumes of the new, 2nd Edition volumes of The Codex Lacrimae (1. The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight, 2. The Journey to Mimir’s Well, and 3. The Book of Tears), and (2) be named as a “Kickstarter Supporter & Patron” in Acknowledgments of 2nd edition book. [LIVE LINK!!! https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogyy]

Stretch Goal #2: Begin Marketing Campaign AND Hire a Fantasy Illustrator for “The Codex Lacrimae”

Stretch Goal #2: Begin Marketing Campaign AND Hire a Fantasy Illustrator for “The Codex Lacrimae”

STRETCH GOAL #2:  $14,000.00 (Marketing Campaign & Hiring of Fantasy Illustrator) Funding at this level starts a MARKETING CAMPAIGN for The Codex Lacrimae AND HIRE AN ILLUSTRATOR for 3 vols (i.e., funding would include hiring illustrator & producing ten b&w plates per volume = 30 plates).

Rewards at this level: Donors who helped me achieve this level of funding would receive both previous Stretch Level Rewards, AND the first 2 black & white plates (signed by both artist and me) of a limited 9-Plate release series of illustrations from my favorite scenes in the book. [LIVE LINK!!! https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy]

Stretch Goal #3: Marketing Campaign, Illustrations, AND Produce Audiobook Versions of “The Codex Lacrimae, Parts 1-3”

Stretch Goal #3: Marketing Campaign, Illustrations, AND Produce Audiobook Versions of “The Codex Lacrimae, Parts 1-3”

STRETCH GOAL #3: $18,000.00 (Marketing Campaign, Illustrations, & Audiobook) Funding at this level would allow me to begin MARKETING CAMPAIGN for The Codex Lacrimae, HIRE AN ILLUSTRATOR for all three volumes, AND PRODUCE AUDIOBOOK VERSIONS of the three volumes.

Rewards at this level: Donors at this level of funding will receive all previous Stretch Level Rewards, AND a free, digitally-delivered audiobook version of The Codex Lacrimae, Part 1: The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight. [LIVE LINK!!! https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy]

Stretch Goal #4: Marketing Campaign, Illustrations, Audiobook Versions, AND Launch Ad Blitzes for Summer 2015 (ad blasts would run mid-April to mid-June, 2015)

Stretch Goal #4: Marketing Campaign, Illustrations, Audiobook Versions, AND Launch Ad Blitzes for Summer 2015 (ad blasts would run mid-April to mid-June, 2015)

STRETCH GOAL #4: $20,000.00 (Marketing Campaign, Illustrations, Audiobook, & Summer 2015 “Buzz” & Ad Blitzes [@ 8 Wks, from MID-APRIL TO MID-JUNE, 2015]) Funding at this level achieves preceding initiatives, PLUS begin “ad-blitzes” for The Codex Lacrimae, Part 1 and The Codex Lacrimae, Part 2 during a prime selling season (Summer 2015).

Rewards at this level: Donors at this level will receive all previous Stretch Level Rewards, AND 4 more signed illustrations (for total 6 of 9). [LIVE LINK!!! https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy]

Stretch Goal #5: Marketing Campaign, Illustrations, Audiobook Versions, Launch Ad Blitzes for Summer 2015 AND Holidays 2015

Stretch Goal #5: Marketing Campaign, Illustrations, Audiobook Versions, Launch Ad Blitzes for Summer 2015 AND Holidays 2015

STRETCH GOAL #5: $25,000.00 (Marketing Campaign, Illustrations, Audiobook, & Summer 2015 AND Holiday 2015 Ad Blitzes [@ 8 Wks, from MID-APRIL TO MID-JUNE, 2015, and 8 Wks from MID-OCT. TO MID-DEC. 2015]) Funding at this level helps achieve preceding initiatives, PLUS begin “ad-blitzes” for ALL 3 PARTS of The Codex Lacrimae during prime selling seasons.  That is, promote CL Parts 1 & 2 for Summer 2015 (mid-April thru mid-June 2015), AND CL Parts I-3 during Holidays 2015, mid-Oct. thru mid-Dec.).

Rewards at this level: Donors at this level of funding will receive all previous Stretch Level Rewards, AND remaining 3 illustrated, signed plates of the series (making a 9 out of 9 plate total).

Cover Art for “The Codex Vindicta: The Book of Vengeance,” Pt 2 of A.J. Carlisle’s 9-Book “Artifacts of Destiny” Series!

Cover Art for “The Codex Vindicta: The Book of Vengeance,” Pt 2 of A.J. Carlisle’s 9-Book “Artifacts of Destiny” Series!

STRETCH GOAL #6: $30,000.00 Funding at this level would allow me to accomplish all of the preceding initiatives, PLUS provide development funds for my writing of The Codex Vindicta: The Book of Vengeance, the 2nd of 9-book Artifacts of Destiny series.

Rewards for this level:  When published (projected April 2016), donors above $25 will receive all previous Stretch Goal Rewards, PLUS — in advance of its official release in Spring 2016 — a free, DRM digital copy of A.J. Carlisle’s The Codex Vindicta: The Book of Vengeance to thank you for your support! [LIVE LINK!!! https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy]

Risks, Challenges, and Remedies for A.J.'s Kickstarter Project!

Risks, Challenges, and Remedies for A.J.’s Kickstarter Project!

Risks and challenges:

The major obstacles are two-fold & related to publishing:

(1) Line-editing turnaround and implementation of editor’s recommendations. I work very fast and I’m deadline driven, but there may be lag time between an editor’s completion of books, and my incorporating corrections/deletions/revisions into new version of book. Resolution: will keep supporters apprised of deadline completions (or delays), dates of manuscript mailings & receipts, etc. via Kickstarter website, personal email blasts, and wordpress blog, with updates on deadline completions.)

(2) Publishing the books. Production of the volumes may be delayed by interaction and correspondence with publisher (review & correction of galleys, cover and interior art, promotional material on e-book sites, etc). Resolution: will keep supporters apprised of publishing schedule, submission dates, and notes from publisher via Kickstarter site, personal email blasts, & wordpress blog.

Rewards from A.J. that are sure to put a smile on your face!

Rewards from A.J. that are sure to put a smile on your face!

REWARDS!!!

Pledge $10 or more https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy
WORLD OF NIFLHEIM
LEVEL:

Pledge $15 or more https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy
WORLD OF NIFLHEIM LEVEL: “Not quite one of Hela’s undead, but you’re at least willing to dip your toe into the Nástrond, or Corpse-Shore…Welcome to A.J.’s Nine Worlds!”
RECEIVE: 1 “The Codex Lacrimae” bookmark + 1 Signed B&W Sketch Plate (“Fenris Wolves in Niflheim”)

Pledge $20 or
more https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy

WORLD OF NIFLHEIM…IN HEL (!) LEVEL: “You need some reward for crawling upward from Hela’s lands & successfully evading the skeleton guardian, Modgud.”
RECEIVE: 1 glossy POSTER (8.5″ x 11″) of the covers to new “The Codex Lacrimae” trilogy + 1 “The Codex Lacrimae” bookmark + 1 Signed B&W Sketch Plate (“Fenris Wolves in Niflheim”)

Support A.J. & Begin Journey into 9 Worlds of Norse Mythology!

Support A.J. & Begin Journey into 9 Worlds of Norse Mythology!

Pledge $25 or more https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy
WORLD OF MUSPELHEIM LEVEL: “Congratulations, your payment to the Loremaster helps you peer into the Fire Realm without being seen by the fearsome Huntsmen, Morpeth & Farbuati!”
RECEIVE: 1 DRM DIGITAL COPY of 1st ed. of “The Codex Lacrimae, Part 1: The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight” + 1 glossy POSTER (8.5″ x 11″) of the covers to new “The Codex Lacrimae” trilogy + 1 “The Codex Lacrimae” bookmark + 2 Signed B&W Sketch Plates (“Fenris Wolves in Niflheim” & “Circe & Aurelius”); lastly, when published, also receive 1 DRM copy of 2nd Edition of “The Codex Lacrimae, Pt 1”

Explore the Nine Worlds in A.J.'s Epic Fantasy Series!

Explore the Nine Worlds in A.J.’s Epic Fantasy Series!

Pledge $30 or more https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy
FENRIR-BAUDE LEVEL: “You’re not quite among the living yet, but you have made it to the middle-regions between Hel & Midgard!” (btw, while you’re in the Fenrir-Baude tavern, ask the man-wolf, Fenris, for a mug of ale…tell him A.J. sent you!)
RECEIVE: Full digital copy of 1st ed. of “The Codex Lacrimae”! = 1 DRM DIGITAL COPY of “The Codex Lacrimae, Part 1: The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight” + 1 DRM DIGITAL COPY of “The Codex Lacrimae, Part 2: The Book of Tears” + 1 glossy POSTER (8.5″ x 11″) of the covers to new “The Codex Lacrimae” trilogy + 1 “The Codex Lacrimae” bookmark + 3 Signed B&W Sketch Plates (“Fenris Wolves in Niflheim,” “Circe & Aurelius,” & “The Fenrir Baude”); lastly, when published, also receive 1 DRM copy of 2nd Edition of “The Codex Lacrimae, Pt 1: The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight”

Pledge $35 or more https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy
WORLD OF VANAHEIM LEVEL: “In the fair lands where Mimir lived before losing his head to Odin in a bygone age…” This reward level allows you to start collecting your very own paperback versions of a new kind of epic fantasy!
RECEIVE:  A SIGNED 1st Edition PAPERBACK COPY of THE CODEX LACRIMAE, PART 1, plus backers will also receive the full story for their Kindles, iBooks, & nooks! = 1 DRM Digital Copy of The Codex Lacrimae, Part 1 AND 1 DRM Digital Copy of The Codex Lacrimae, Part 2 + 1 bookmark + 3 Signed B&W Sketch Plates (“Fenris Wolves in Niflheim,” “Circe & Aurelius,” & “The Fenrir Baude”); lastly, when published, also receive 1 DRM copy of 2nd Edition of “The Codex Lacrimae, Pt 1: The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight” AND “1 DRM copy of “CL, Pt 2: The Journey to Mimir’s Well” [Note: Publication for CL, Pt 2 not scheduled to be released until June, 2015]

The Mysterious Forests of Svartalfheim await visitors to A.J.'s Nine Worlds!

The Mysterious Forests of Svartalfheim await visitors to A.J.’s Nine Worlds!

Pledge $40 or more https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy
WORLD OF SVARTALFHEIM LEVEL:“Thanks, Friends! This contribution sees you restored after your stay at the Fenrir-Baude, and Hela’s Deadlands are far behind as you take a rune-gate to the home of the Dark Elves; however, beware of the Huntsmen of Muspelheim & shape-shifters who roam Svartalfheim’s forests!”
RECEIVE: A SIGNED 1st Edition PAPERBACK COPY of THE CODEX LACRIMAE, PART 1, plus backers will also receive the full story for their Kindles, iBooks, & nooks! = 1 DRM Digital Copy of The Codex Lacrimae, Part 1 AND 1 DRM Digital Copy of The Codex Lacrimae, Part 2 + 1 bookmark + 3 Signed B&W Sketch Plates (“Fenris Wolves in Niflheim,” “Circe & Aurelius,” & “The Fenrir Baude”) AND 1 Watercolor Plate (“The Arrival of Ibn-Khaldun”); lastly, when published, also receive 1 DRM copy of 2nd Edition of “The Codex Lacrimae, Pt 1: The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight” AND “1 DRM copy of “CL, Pt 2: The Journey to Mimir’s Well” [Note: Publication for CL, Pt 2 not scheduled to be released until June, 2015]

Pledge $50 or more https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy
WORLD OF NIDAVELLER LEVEL: “The dwarvish Arch-Mages Andvari, Traeg, & Dietrich couldn’t be more proud of this contribution…thank you! Join the Company of the Codex as it seeks the Well of Mimir with your very own signed paperback copy of 1st ed.. of “The Codex Lacrimae, Part 2: The Book of Tears!”
RECEIVE: A SIGNED 1st Edition PAPERBACK COPY of THE CODEX LACRIMAE, PART 2: THE BOOK OF TEARS, plus backers will also receive the full story for their Kindles, iBooks, & nooks! = 1 DRM Digital Copy of The Codex Lacrimae, Part 1 AND 1 DRM Digital Copy of The Codex Lacrimae, Part 2 + 1 bookmark + 3 Signed B&W Sketch Plates (“Fenris Wolves in Niflheim,” “Circe & Aurelius,” & “The Fenrir Baude”) AND 1 Watercolor Plate (“The Arrival of Ibn-Khaldun”); lastly, when published, also receive 1 DRM copy of 2nd Edition of “The Codex Lacrimae, Pt 1: The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight” AND “1 DRM copy of “CL, Pt 2: The Journey to Mimir’s Well” [Note: Publication for CL, Pt 2 not scheduled to be released until June, 2015]

Enter the Throne-Room of a King of Nidaveller in A..J.'s Epic Fantasy Saga!

Enter the Throne-Room of a King of Nidaveller in A..J.’s Epic Fantasy Saga!

Pledge $75 or more https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy
WORLD OF MIDGARD LEVEL: “Who needs a runeporte? With this contribution, you’ve got the entirety of A.J. Carlisle’s Nine Worlds thus far in print and digital formats! Wander through the 12th Century medieval lands of the Middle East, Byzantium, Italy, Sicily, France, and Scandinavia, as you follow Ríg, Clarinda, & their companions!”
RECEIVE: 1 SIGNED, PAPERBACK copy of 1st ed. of “The Codex Lacrimae, Part 1: The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight” + 1 SIGNED, PAPERBACK copy of 1st ed. of “The Codex Lacrimae, Part 2: The Book of Tears” + 1 DRM Digital Copy of 1st ed. of “The Codex Lacrimae, Part 1” + 1 DRM Digital Copy of 1st ed. of “The Codex Lacrimae, Part 2” + 3 Signed B&W Sketch Plates (“Fenris Wolves in Niflheim,” “Circe & Aurelius,” & “The Fenrir Baude”) AND 1 Signed Watercolor Plate (“The Arrival of Ibn-Khaldun”) AND 1 pdf copy of “The Boy Who Couldn’t See Magic” (an original, unpublished short story by A.J. Carlisle that features “easter eggs” & character backgrounds from the regular Artifacts of Destiny series); lastly, when published, also receive 1 DRM copy of 2nd Edition of “The Codex Lacrimae, Pt 1: The Mariner’s Daughter & Doomed Knight” AND “1 DRM copy of “CL, Pt 2: The Journey to Mimir’s Well” [Note: Publication for CL, Pt 2 not scheduled to be released until June, 2015]

Pledge $100 or more https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy
WORLD OF ASGARD LEVEL: “Now you’ve really done it —previously only the seer, Mimir, and the three Norns of Fate had access to the Fabled Realm, but now you, too, can start to see the bigger picture of A.J. Carlisle’s Nine Worlds.” As you try to avoid the snares of the World Serpent on the Fjords of Asgard supporters will
RECEIVE: EVERYTHING in the $75 package, AND 3 Signed Watercolor Plates (“Clarinda & Urd in Hagia Sophia,” “A Flyting at Caesarea,” and “The Waterfall at the Fenrir Baude”)

Magical Rewards await for those who support A.J.'s epic fantasy story at these donor levels!

Magical Rewards await for those who support A.J.’s epic fantasy story at these donor levels!

Pledge $250 or more https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy
FIELDS OF BURNING NIGHT LEVEL: “You’re well on the way to seeing the importance that the 6th Century “Battle of the Fields of Burning Night” to the entirety of “The Artifacts of Destiny” series with a glimpse at the battle between Taliesin & the Nightmare Lord!” Supporters will RECEIVE: EVERYTHING in the $100 package, AND 1 pdf copy of “A Last Chance at the Golden Horn,” another original short story from A.J. that begins to unveil the mystery surrounding the Santini family…!

Pledge $1,000 or more https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1405208111/the-codex-lacrimae-an-epic-fantasy-trilogy
MIMIR’S WELL RUNE-GATE LEVEL: “The rainbow-colored runeporte of Mimir’s Well opens to the Multiverse and Nine Worlds of Norse mythology with this level of funding. For the first time, supporters can peer into the magic Well of Fate & glimpse the 23RD CENTURY features of The Artifacts of Destiny!”
RECEIVE: EVERYTHING in the $250 package, AND 1 pdf copy of “The Quark Shop of Professore Ugolino,” another original short story by A.J. that takes the reader on an interplanetary journey from Jupiter’s moons to Earth with the 23rd Century descendants of the Santini family line!

Next Time: More Film Comments on Peter Jackson’s Film Adaptation of “The Hobbit!”

No comments yet

What do you think?

