Skip to content

11.19.13 An Author’s Journey: Interlude 3: Morning Coffee Klatch with Sophia (aka, Of Jon Stewart, Stephen Colbert, and That ‘Andre Norton Person’), Part 2

11.19.13  An Author’s Journey: Interlude 3: Morning Coffee Klatch with Sophia (aka, Of Jon Stewart, Stephen Colbert, and That ‘Andre Norton Person’), Part 2

Arthur C. Clarke, Rendezvous with Rama (1973)

Arthur C. Clarke, Rendezvous with Rama (1973)

“I’ll keep the lines clean,” I promise, “and write about only a few of the greats: Clark’s Rama series, Norton’s Witch World, Heinlein’s Multiverse—

“Maybe I hit a nerve,” she frowns, continuing to fill in the grid on her puzzle.  “I just don’t want to read any psycho-babble.”

“I’d be done already, except I got ticked off trying to find recent versions of Andre Norton’s books.”

“Andre Who?”

Robert A. Heinlein, Multiverse Series

Robert A. Heinlein, Multiverse Series

“Don’t start again. She’s important, but she died eight years ago. Her estate got tangled, so you can’t find up-to-date versions of her books.”

“Anger’s good,” Sophia muses.  “Muster some outrage.”

“I’m not outraged, just astonished.  These classic Sci-Fi books should stay in print.”

“The market dictates,” she says.  “Maybe those authors aren’t selling anymore.”

“How can they sell, if people can’t even find them because they’re out-of-print?”

“It’s your blog, do what you want; but make it fun, and keep it short.”

“The subject is ‘finding the literary side,’” I grumble, “it’s not going to be bullet points on a Power Point slide.”

“I didn’t say to do that.” She smiles and puts down her pen.  “Done.”

“Congratulations,” I mutter. “You didn’t stop while we talked.”

“No excuses.”  She flips the newspaper page, and starts on the Crypto-Quip, for which I’ve got a copy also.  (The only puzzle I don’t do in our daily 5:00 a.m. competition is the Sudoku…I’ve never been good in math.)

Andre Norton (1912-2005)

Andre Norton (1912-2005)

“I’ll get to it later in the morning,” I promise, restarting the dvr and finding some sanity in the world with Colbert.

“You’re going to start with this Andre Norton person?” she asks.

“Yes,” I sigh, exhausted by the exchange, but determined.  “I’m going to start with the Andre Norton person.”

Next Time:  The “Andre Norton Person” (& Other Sci-Fi Greats)

No comments yet

What do you think?

